Everything about your study
in one of the most beautiful cities in the world

Czech Technical University in Prague

The Czech Technical University in Prague (CTU) is a leading technical research university with a long tradition, located in the picturesque city of Prague. It was founded on the initiative of Josef Christian Willenberg on the basis of a decree issued on January 18th, 1707 by Emperor Josef I.

CTU currently has eight faculties and one School of Business with many study programmes offered in English:

  • Faculty of Civil Engineering
  • Faculty of Mechanical Engineering
  • Faculty of Electrical Engineering
  • Faculty of Nuclear Science and Physical Engineering
  • Faculty of Architecture
  • Faculty of Transportation Sciences
  • Faculty of Biomedical Engineering
  • Faculty of Information Technology
  • MIAS School of Business

Our alumni work as engineers and managers in the public sector, as well as in national and international companies. Many graduates become successful scientists, researchers and professors at foreign universities and in unique partner laboratories, including CERN and the Brookhaven National Laboratory.

Research is carried out at all 8 faculties and also at the University Center for Energy Efficient Buildings (UCEEB), the Czech Institute of Informatics, Robotics and Cybernetics (CIIRC), the Klokner Institute, the Institute of Technical and Experimental Physics, and the Masaryk Institute of Advanced Studies (MIAS).

CTU took 8th place in the QS EECA University Rankings (Emerging Europe and Central Asia) and Prague improved its position in the QS Best Student Cities Index, coming in at the 26th place globally, climbing every year due to its safe and student-friendly international environment.

I want to know more about the Czech Technical University in Prague

České vysoké učení technické v Praze