Everything about your study
in one of the most beautiful cities in the world

Study System

Degree System

The university education system in the Czech Republic is generally divided into 3 tiers:

  • Bachelor program (3 or 4 years/undergraduate)
  • Master’s program (1.5 or 2 years/post-bachelor)
  • Doctoral program (up to 5 years/post-graduate)


  • Master’s degree (5 or 6 years/long-cycle undergraduate) – valid for General Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy, Law, Psychology, Teacher Education for Primary Schools, Catholic Theology
  • Doctoral degree (up to 5 years/post-graduate)

Credit system

The ECTS credit system is implemented at all universities in Europe. It enables students to study and gather credits at various universities across Europe.

  • Bachelor degree: 180 credits
  • Master’s degree: 120 credits
  • 5-year Master’s degree (long-cycle undergraduate): 300 credits
  • 6-year Master’s degree (long-cycle undergraduate): 360 credits

You can be awarded up to 10 credits for a completed course.

1 ECTS Credit generally corresponds to 25-30 hours of work per semester.

Timing/Academic calendar

  • The academic year is usually divided into 2 semesters.
  • Each semester lasts about 14 weeks of classes, and is followed by an examination period lasting up to 6 weeks. Classes are usually 90 minutes long. The first class in the morning can start at 7:30 am or at 8 am (depending on the faculty); evening classes may end between 7 and 9 pm. There are 15-minute breaks between classes.
  • Academic year starts in the middle of September.